Ideas for Finding and Releasing?

Forum » Release Techniques | Refresh | Search

Sort Options 

Complete Thread
Hi! I'm new to BookCrossing, and I'm not very experienced with this. I was wondering where exactly I should start. What are good places to look for and release BookCrossing books? I just need a place to get started.

of where and how others have released books that have been caught. You will also notice that although some are caught quickly, some take weeks, months, years to write home. You need patience as a BookCrosser.

As for where to look for books, you can sign up for Release Alerts for towns near to you, but just realize that a book may not still be there by the time you go to look for it. Also see if there are any OBCZs in your area (they show a designation on the Go Hunting pages).

Where to release books is wide open. I release mostly indoors: restaurants, coffee shops, waiting rooms, hospitals, OBCZs, etc. Also at Little Free Libraries in my area. And when I do release out of doors I always put the book in a Release Bag (from the Supply Store) to protect it from the weather, as I have no way of knowing how long it will remain outside. Others have luck with outside releases like trail heads and parks. The one place the site has asked that we not release is airports, as an unaccompanied book caused a bomb scare once that shut down an airport. Though some airports even have book-sharing shelves these days.

Some people trade books with other BookCrossers or join bookrings or book boxes. There are forums for that type of sharing. I prefer to release mine in the wild.